Northern Europe to-travel

I wish to visit Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia. And then, turn west to Sweden and east to Russia.

Why?

For the Gabled roof houses and Castles and the shores of Baltic Sea! The mosaic of hills, fields, sandstone cliffs and mineral-springs.

Fun-fact: Latvia has one of the fastest Internet download and upload speeds in the world. Bah! That’s no concern for me. Their Environmental Performance Index alone wins me over everything.

Lithuania for the sand dunes and Vilnius University (one of the oldest in N.Europe). And, for Czeslaw Milosz– May he rest in peace. His Three winters is on my search list since years now.

  • I swear, there is in me no wizardry of word.
    I speak to you with silence like a cloud or a tree.

Meaning (1991) probably sums up best my fondness for him.

When I die, I will see the lining of the world.
The other side, beyond bird, mountain, sunset.
The true meaning, ready to be decoded.
What never added up will add Up,
What was incomprehensible will be comprehended.
– And if there is no lining to the world?
If a thrush on a branch is not a sign,
But just a thrush on the branch? If night and day
Make no sense following each other?
And on this earth there is nothing except this earth?
– Even if that is so, there will remain
A word wakened by lips that perish,
A tireless messenger who runs and runs
Through interstellar fields, through the revolving galaxies,
And calls out, protests, screams. 

Some say his poetry is depressing. It could be. Two world wars are enough to suck life out of anyone. Still when I read this, I fall in love , more and more, with him.

Death, you say, mine and yours, closer and closer,
We suffered and this poor earth was not enough.
The purple-black earth of vegetable gardens
Will be here, either looked at or not.
The sea, as today, will breathe from its depths.
Growing small, I disappear in the immense, more and more free.

Russia has long been in my dreams now. Time to go and see them all. The Last Station- aah! How it drifts me in a snowy embrace with Dostoevsky’s land. And, Lev Tolstoy, Gogol, Alexei Tolstoy(Nikita’s Childhood), Pushkin and Svetlana’s call. Volga and the Kremlins await me.

Someday, I’ll see it all.

Leave a Reply

